Williamsburg Players 2015 Annual Meeting August 9, 2015

The Annual Meeting was called to order by President Hugh Siggins at 2:05 PM. There was a total of approximately 36 in attendance including current members of the board.

Board Members Present: Hugh Siggins, Neil Hollands, Kathleen Walden, Amy Payne, Michael Westenberger, Rani Wachter, Steve Olson, Connie Granger

Board Members Absent: Miguel Girona, Becky Krantz, Tony Spunzo

- 1. A motion was made by Debbie Noonan, and seconded by Carole Meyer to approval last year's annual meeting minutes. Motion was passed.
- 2. President Hugh Siggins Annual Report was presented. Highlights included:
 - a. Thanked those who monetarily donated to the Williamsburg Players last year. This total was \$131,434.69.
 - b. Our 2014-2015 Season was well attended with many sold out performances.
 - c. Our Volunteer Recruitment program helped to increase our number of volunteers. The season ended with a well-attended and well-organized Volunteer Appreciation Event on June 19, 2015.
- 3. Neil Hollands presented line-by-line budget for 2014-2015 season. Expenses for the season were \$323,865.88, income \$455,448.99 with a net income of \$131,583.11.
- 4. Special Recognition was made of the passing of Mollie Robbins, a loving actress who was with the Williamsburg Players from the beginning. Amy Lyles asked if we would be dedicating the 2015-2016 in her honor. Kathleen Walden, Secretary, confirmed that the Williamsburg Players would indeed be doing so along with a page in each Playbill honoring her and a remembrance plaque in the lobby.
- 5. Scholarship Betsy Jo Spence reported that 28 schools were sent information about applying for our scholarship. 8 applicants were given auditions and interviews. The judges were Peter Natale and Susan James. The winner of the 2015 scholarship was Brooke Gorsica from York High School.
- 6. Presentation of proposed By-Law changes were presented by Hugh Siggins. Motion was made by Bob Noonan to approve the changes, and seconded by Les Waldron. The changes were:
 - a. Setting a new maximum of 13 persons to sit on the Board of Directors. Was 12 persons.
 - b. A modified list of positions on the board with more definite descriptions that fit the structure of the current board and their job responsibilities more accurately.
- 7. Elections –

c.

- a. Hugh Siggins led the discussion as he :
 - i. Recognized Miguel Girona and Becky Krantz for their dedication and work as they are exiting the board at the end of their second term.
 - ii. Recognized Steve Olson who was eligible for re-election.
 - iii. Announced the resignation of Tony Spunzo and Guy Bordelon
- b. Kathleen Walden presented the slate of nominations to the Board of Directors: Olivia Bada, Philip Cabibi, Scott Hayes, Brandon Lyles and Deborah Soderholm to join the board, and Steve Olson to be voted to remain on the board.
 - Hugh solicited for any nominations from the floor, of which there were none.
- d. A motion was made by Kathleen Walden and seconded by Debbie Noonan to accept the slate as submitted. This motion was passed.
- 8. Neil Hollands presented line-by-line the proposed budget for the 2015-2016 budget. A motion was made by Bob Noonan to approve the budget, seconded by Amy Payne. This motion was passed.
- 9. Question and Answer Session:
 - a. David Cunningham asked why the meeting minutes were no longer posted on our website. As the majority of the board was unaware of the fact that they were only accessible by login, Dave Cunningham made a motion that they become accessible on the website to all. Bob Noonan second the motion. The motion was passed.
 - b. Carole Meyer stated there is a dress code for concessions and ushering volunteers. She was dismayed to see the Board Member on Duty show up in jeans, flip flops and a dirty t-shirt. The board was shocked and thought it was well understood how to dress. The board will address this in their meeting directly following the Annual Meeting.
 - c. Charles Bush wanted to know if we were aware of the changes at Virginia Gazette with a new editor and the departure of Ann Effimetz, the person who reviewed local theater. We are indeed aware of it and have had discussions with the new editor.
 - d. Nick Christoff inquired about our membership for the Annual Meeting. Our membership is defined as anyone who fulfills one or more of the requirements listed below:
 - i. In general, a total of 25 hours of volunteer service will qualify an individual to be awarded membership by the Board of Directors.
 - ii. Through application to and approval by the Board of Directors
 - iii. Through Honorary Memberships that the Board of Directors may bestow for faithful or special services.
 - iv. The purchase of any donor-level season subscription (see II.2 of our Bylaws posted on our website)
 - v. The purchase of a season subscription plus donations which together exceed the cost of purchasing a general admission ticket for each show.
- 10. Motion to adjourn was made by Les Waldron and seconded by Bob Noonan. The motion was passed and the meeting adjourned at 3:18 PM.